If Not Mitt, Then Who?

Recently, Former Mass. Governor and Republican Presidential Candidate, Willard Mitt Romney made his intentions clear that after deep consideration he would not be seeking the Presidency for a third time in a private conference call to supporters.

ROMNEY: Your loyalty and friendship and your desire to see the country with new, competent and conservative leadership does warm the heart. After putting considerable thought into making another run for president, I’ve decided it’s best to give other leaders in the party the opportunity to become our next nominee.

Let me give you some of my thinking. First, I’m convinced that with the help of the people on this call, we could win the nomination. Our finance calls made it clear we would have enough funding to be more than competitive and with few exceptions our field political leadership is ready and enthusiastic about a new race. The reaction of Republican voters across the country was both surprising and heartening.

I know that early poll numbers move up and down a great deal during the campaign, but we would have no doubt started in a strong position. One poll out just today shows me gaining support and leading the next closest contender by two to one and also leading in all of the four early states. So, I’m convinced that we could win the nomination.

But I fully realize it would have been a difficult task and a hard fight. I also believe with the message of making the world safer, providing opportunity for every American regardless of the neighborhood they live in, and working to break the grip of poverty, I would have the best chance of beating the eventual Democrat nominee, but that’s before the other contenders have had the opportunity to take their message to the voters.

I believe that one of our next generation of Republican leaders, one who may not be as well known as I am today, one who has not yet taken their message across the country, one who is just getting started, may well emerge as being better able to defeat the Democrat nominee. In fact, I expect and hope that to be the case. I feel that it’s critical that America elect a conservative leader to become our next president. You know that I wanted to be that president. But I do not want to make it more difficult for someone else to emerge who may have a better chance of becoming that president.

You can’t imagine how hard it is for Ann and me to step aside especially knowing of your support and the support of so many people across the country. We believe it’s for the best of the party and the nation.

I’ve been asked and will certainly be asked again if there are any circumstances whatsoever that might develop that could change my mind. That seems unlikely. Accordingly, I’m not organizing a PAC or taking donations. I’m not hiring a campaign team. I encourage all of you on this call to stay engaged in the critical process of selecting a Republican candidate for president. So you should feel free to sign up on a campaign for a person who you believe may become our best nominee.

This is the mark of a great leader. Someone who knows him or herself well enough to understand that they are more than capable of leading yet understanding that they aren’t the right person to lead at this time.

It takes a big man to step aside from seeking the highest office in the land after coming within arms reach. Supporters and opponents alike have recognized the type of man Mitt Romney is and I, your humble correspondent , would argue that he is probably the most-well-respected politician in our country in the age of sleazy politicians.

Now, you’ll note that he mentioned the possibilities of changing his mind were “Very unlikely.” But, he didn’t say “out of the question.” Naturally, this is a tough decision for anyone to make- running for President. It takes a great deal of humility to say there’s someone better when just four short years ago, he was ‘The Man,’ ‘The One,’ and ‘The Next President of the United States.’ Does this mean Mitt might make one more comeback? Probably not.

Alas, as Mitt Romney exits stage left, who will be entering on stage right?

This is the task of the Republican Party now.

Last Week, we discussed what the 2016 Republican Primaries might entail, but with Romney bowing out what will this mean for the Cast of Politicians auditioning for the role of Presidential Nominee?

Bique’s (Top 3 of) 10 for President

1. Ben Carson

In the 7th grade, I was exposed to Doctor Carson’s Story through my Critical Thinking Class in his book, “Think BIG” and since then, I’v e had an immense respect for the Doctor and his service to his fellow man. Since his Keynote Speech at the 2013 Prayer Breakfast, I’ve had a yearning to see him take on a similar role to Ronald Reagan in 1966 – Citizen Politician. I think Ben Carson can have an equally profound affect on our Nation as he did in the Medical Field.

As a neurosurgeon, he brings immense experience in making critical decisions with critical timing. He knows how to take the information given to him and make the best educated decision. Just because he doesn’t have extensive foreign policy experience doesn’t mean he can’t bring the greatest and authoritative minds in military and foreign policy together to help make a thought out and logical decision.

This is why Dr. Ben Carson is my #1 for President at this Point.

2. Sarah Palin
I have loved Alaska’s Frm. Governor since she came to Central Florida as Senator John McCain’s Vice Presidential Pick in 2008. Her straight talk and sense of humor is something I appreciate. I admire the work she sought out to do as Governor and how she bucked the GOP establishment of her State. Many call Ron Paul the Grandfather of the Tea Party Movement and I consider her the Mother of the Movement. One day she might be able to say , “I can see the Capitol Building from my backyard.”

I think Sarah Palin’s patriotism, faith, courage makes her the perfect counter to Hillary Clinton should they both receive their respective Party’s nomination for President.

3. Scott Walker

Wisconsin’s Governor is battle tested and ready for the Presidency. Soon after being elected in 2010, his efforts to balance the state budget would receive major blowback because of the huge cuts and restrictions in collective bargaining that would be in place in order to avoid layoffs. State Democrats and Unions called for Walker to be removed from office and almost 1 one million signatures were acquired, well above the reqired minimum. Yet, Walker won the 2012 recall at the ballots garnering almost 200 thousand votes than before. Walker then won re-election in 2014 by a slightly lower margin than 2012 but higher than in 2010.

Walker has the conservative credentials and a strong record as Governor which makes him a serious contender for the Presidency.

Next week on top of my commentary, you’ll see the last 7 on Bique’s Top 10 for President.

Leave a Reply

