A Lost Dream?

On August 28th, it is the 50th Anniversary of MLK Jr’s “I have a Dream” Speech. This is such a momentous occasion. I’d say its almost as famous and as well known as Lincoln’s Gettysburg Address.

What’s the Dream?

Lets refresh ourselves with the enlightening words of Dr. King.

“I have a dream that little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character.”
~ Martin Luther King Jr.

He dreamed that there would be an equal playing field for all people of color.

I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed: ‘We hold these truths to be self-evident; that all men are created equal.”

Not that we’d have a “War on Poverty” that would amount in Billions in Government Aid but give African Americans the opportunities to be prosperous. What we should seek is an equality in opportunity, NOT in result. It’s simply not how liberty works.

Define these “Opprotunites”

Education.

Remember George Wallace?

“Segregation now, segregation tomorrow and segregation forever!”
~George Wallace

During this time schools where segregated by race. And we know the “Black or Colored” Schools were not equal next to their racial counterparts.

The comparative quality of education among rich and poor districts is still often the subject of dispute. While middle class African-American children have made good progress; poor minorities have struggled. With school systems based on property taxes, there are wide disparities in funding between wealthy suburbs or districts, and often poor, inner-city areas or small towns. “De facto segregation” has been difficult to overcome as residential neighborhoods have remained more segregated than workplaces or public facilities.

Now in this age of technology, every American, white or black, can obtain great amounts of knowledge. There is a world of knowledge in the palm of your hands. Never more in our country’s history has there been such an equal playing field of knowledge to build on and get ahead.

So what’s the hold up.

Our politically correct society, we have held back the wheels of progress by not looking any further than our brothers’ skin color… Depending which side of the political spectrum you’re on.

The Content of Character?

Who’s got more character?

Jay-Z?

“Uh, yo don’t get mad at me
I don’t love ’em I f**k ’em
I don’t chase ’em I duck ’em
I replace ’em with another one
You had to see she keep calling me BIG
And my name is Jay-Z
She be all on my d**k
Gradually I’m taking over your b***h
Coming over your s**t”
– Song “Is that yo b***h?

Or Congressman Tim Scott?

“I just dove into the Scriptures and started memorizing different scriptures and started becoming as much as possible a part of the scripture. I wanted it to be grafted into my heart.”

President Obama “weighs in”

“Every time I talk to Jay-Z, who is a brilliant talent and a good guy, I enjoy how he thinks,”
says Obama
Rolling Stones 2008

“Nuff Said”

We have a long way to go for Dr. King’s Dream to become a reality.
But it’s gotta start in our hearts. We’ve got to forgive the past and look forward to a bright future full of opportunities and prosperity, but were holding ourselves back when we discuss race relations in America like Birmingham happened yesterday. It starts today. Let it begin with you and me.

Comment your thoughts below and you can always email me at thebiquefactor@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

